Sakae Japanese – Eastwood

Green Tea Soba and Lunch Bento Sets

I stumbled across Sakae in Eastwood one day when I was supposed to have Yum Cha for lunch. Unfortunately, there was a line building up for the Eastwood yum cha place next door at 11:30, understandably, yum cha time – so we decided to give this small but neat little restaurant a go.

They did have both indoor and outdoor seating but we chose to sit indoors. It was very spacious and felt Japanese straight away from the light wooden decor of the walls. Looking at the menu, I went straight to the lunch specials of bento boxes. It was $13.50 for a basic bento lunch set comprised of a main, three salmon sashimi pieces, a pasta side salad, miso soup, rice bowl and a little spring roll πŸ™‚

I decided to try the Teriyaki fish bento and the Torikara chicken bento box, plus the Cha Soba – which I chose because of the … unique-ness. It was green tea soba noodles!! I had only tried cold japanese soba on one occasion before and I thought it was really refreshing soΒ I was really excited by this green tea one. Here’s how it went down:

Teriyaki Fish

Photo 30-03-2014 11 59 00 am

The fish had a cornflour skin around it, marinated in teriyaki sauce and grilled on a pan. It was very soft and juicy and full of lovely flavour. Thankfully, it wasn’t too salty, although I found that squeezing the lemon on top of it gave it a really nice balance. The serving size was generous with three chunky pieces of white flaky fish, not sure what breed of fish it was though ..

Torikara chicken

Photo 30-03-2014 12 02 48 pm

I’m not sure what the name implies.. oh wait, just googled it, i think its tori – karaage. Which isn’t surprising because it was pieces of karaage chicken (i.e. the best type of fried chicken!!!) I love japanese karaage chicken because it’s always a winner. The flavour is intensely delicious, the outer is so crispy and gives a satisfying crunch, and the best thing is that inside is always juicy instead of dry chicken. The portion was always generous with around 5-6 large pieces of fried goodness – only it seemed there wasn’t enough mayo for the amount of chicken…

The sides in the bento were a nice compliment and made a really satisfying and fresh lunch. The pasta salad was creamy and yummy, I really enjoyed that.

Green Tea Soba

Photo 30-03-2014 11 57 50 amΒ  Β  Β  Β  Β  Β  Β  Β  Β  Β  Β  Β  Β  Β  Β  Β  Β  Β  Β Photo 30-03-2014 11 58 10 am

This drew me from the moment I looked at the menu and I was so curious to try it. I ordered it cold, but you could also choose hot. Mmmmmm firstly, the green tea taste was not overwhelming … it was there, just sort of under the radar. The noodles itself were really delicious – the texture was stringy and chewy, just the way I like my noodles. And the colour was soooo pretty *_* I’m not sure what I was expecting to be honest, imagine if it did have a huge green tea flavour – would that even be nice? Anyway, I thought the way it was, it was just light and refreshing, maybe a bit plain on its own?

The Verdict?

I realised there were two Sakae restaurants in Eastwood – one opposite the train station and one in the plaza area, which is the one I went to. This place has never been packed, but it’s a nice little place if you’re in the mood for japanese. Definitely better than the last Japanese place I tried in Eastwood, Torin. You can find that review here:

https://itscaketime.wordpress.com/2014/03/16/torin-japanese-restaurant-eastwood/

Sakae Yakiniku House on Urbanspoon

Leave a Reply

