Cuckoo Callay – Newtown

The Top Line: There is a lot of potential in this food, and I do encourage you to try it – because obviously this place is trending number 8 on Urbanspoon at the time of writing for a reason! But personally, I just saw nothing special in the dish I ordered.

FullSizeRender (1)

The Review: It was Easter Friday (yes, sorry, this post is mega delayed). We were tossing up between a couple of places, but turned out Cuckoo Callay was the only one open on this day of Easter Egg giving and receiving. We didn’t realise that Cuckoo Callay was so convenient, situated right outside of Newtown station (okay who am I kidding, it’s like legit in Newtown station). Countless times I’ve walked past this place, and I didn’t even realise! Anyway, so back to Easter Friday. Easter = Public Holiday = Long lines. We put our names on a chalkboard for 6 people, and waited like 20 minutes? It was raining though, so probably felt longer than it was.

IMG_6626It was Bacon Festival! Our waiter kindly told us that it was Bacon Festival and that they had a special menu full of bacon-goodness in addition to their normal menu 🙂

What a Croque of Bacon ($19)  - Bacon, basil and vintage cheddar croquettes served with bourbon bacon, pea puree and two poached eggs
What a Croque of Bacon ($19) – Bacon, basil and vintage cheddar croquettes served with bourbon bacon, pea puree and two poached eggs
Don't Go Bacon My Heart ($19) - Beer candied bacon and popcorn chicken burger served with beer and tomato chutney, mustard aioli and 'slaw on brioche
Don’t Go Bacon My Heart ($19) – Beer candied bacon and popcorn chicken burger served with beer and tomato chutney, mustard aioli and ‘slaw on brioche

This burger was massive. This picture is not misleading at all. The burger was literally at least 15 cm high … how one can fit this burger in their mouths without some messy deconstruction is beside me. The chicken here was delicious, as delicious as fried chicken in a burger could be, but I don’t know…I don’t think I really digged the beer candied bacon? I thought the “candied” element wasn’t that great and made the bacon a bit dry. Aioli is always a winning sauce in a burger, I reckon.

Personally, I thought this burger was nothing too special. I’ve had better burgers – like the burgers at Mary’s or Chur Burger – but this wasn’t a bad burger. The bacon did ruin it a bit for me though, and maybe the coleslaw. Not too big of a fan of ‘slaw.

We also ordered the Reuben sandwich (which was also massive, so good idea to share between two) and Best. Chips. Ever. ($9) – both unpictured individually, but you can see in the picture at the beginning of the post. The chips came with aioli (yay) but they were rather thick wedges of potato. I don’t like thick wedges – you know,  I’m one of those people who like McDonald’s fries over other things. Each to their own 🙂

Cold Drip ($5)
Cold Drip ($5)

This coffee came to us cold (don’t worry! It was meant to be like that :)) It came with two components – one glass filled with ice, and another small bottle filled with the coffee – and then it was DIY. You pour the small bottle into the glass and tada! Apparently this cold drip coffee was produced after dripping cold water onto lightly roasted coffee beans for 10 hours, to give it a deep caramel and chocolaty taste. As an amateur coffee drinker, this wasn’t too bad, but I’m sure an avid coffee drinker would have appreciated it much more.

– C

Cuckoo Callay on Urbanspoon

Leave a Reply

