Belle’s Hot Chicken – Barangaroo, Sydney

The Top Line: Hit this place up if you want juicy chicken and crispy, well-flavoured chips. It’s worth a try!

Hello dear followers! It’s been a long time since I last posted, but I come to deliver. Last Thursday, at 9pm we hit up Belle’s Hot Chicken in Barangaroo. I’ve been intending to try this place for ages after hearing many good things about it so without further ado, I bring you my review! (I’m such a rhyming genius, I know.)

Screen Shot 2016-05-28 at 10.01.20 PM

What we ordered: Southern fried chicken wings, medium spicy fried chicken wings and dark meat (drumstick and thighs), with a side of chilli-shaken chips plus Belle’s Ranch Dressing and Mississippi Comeback sauce. We also tried the homemade lemon drink.

The review: First things first, these servings were massive. When we picked them up we weren’t sure if we were going to regret it and in hindsight, we probably would have gotten more value out of the bucket deal, which included 16 wings, 4 sides and 2 sauces – but caught up in the moment, we did not think it through. Each set came with 4 massive wings, and a generous serving of chips. There was a slice of bread on the base to soak up all the oils (and man, that was necessary) and a handful of spicy pickles. But then again, it all smelled and looked so, so good.

The moment of truth…

I bit into my southern fried chicken wings, and thought, wow this is super great and juicy…and then I looked at what I had left in my hands after a second bite and it was not a pretty sight – the chicken looked pretty red and raw. We pulled a few more apart, and the entire batch was like that. We promptly took it back to have it replaced, and after a little hesitation, I got myself a new batch. Good thing this one was cooked all the way through! Would have thought there would be better quality control on this… So I would really recommend that you pull your wings apart before chomping on them blindly. The rest the meal was kind of me and defensive eating (what a deal breaker, such a shame).

Now that’s out of the way, the chicken was not like “wow” in terms of taste – thought it was kind of salty, but it was good. On the other hand, the medium wings lacked a punch and were dripping with oil so would not recommend. The chips with the Mississippi Comeback (essentially chilli mayo) were great! I would personally pass on the lemon drink though.

-C

Belles Hot Chicken Menu, Reviews, Photos, Location and Info - Zomato

Leave a Reply

