IKEA Restaurant – Rhodes

I remember the first time I tasted IKEA’s famous meatballs. I was 7 years old and they were so good that I begged my mum to buy a pack of frozen meatballs so we could make it at home. So we bought our frozen meatballs and powder to make the gravy… but it never tasted quite the same at home. Flash forward many years later and I’m back.

Good news is that they’re as good as I remember! I guess I needed to be in the actual IKEA restaurant, I needed the plastic takeaway tray, I needed the whole combination of exactly 10 meatballs (no more, no less), mash, gravy and loganberry sauce. It was delicious! They even garnished my meal with some parsley, how nice of them :’) (but some of my friends didn’t get this garnish, so -1 for inconsistency).

img_1074
IKEA 10 Meatballs & Mash ($7.99)

I noticed that IKEA no longer had normal soft drinks. Instead, for $1.50 you could buy a cup to fill with nordic flavoured water… healthier, I guess. I tried the raspberry soda water, which was nice and artificial in taste, and also the citrus green tea, which was actually really nice. It was thirst quenching, light and not too sweet – a bit like lipton citrus green tea but with fizz.

If you do like your meatballs, you get a cute Swedish flag that really makes you feel like home for ordering 15 meatballs ($9.99). Remember, you can swap your mash for chips! But I recommend the mash because the fries wont be fresh and the mash was delicious.

screen-shot-2016-11-20-at-10-23-52-pm
IKEA 15 Meatballs + Fries ($9.99)

Don’t get me wrong though, I think the IKEA hot dog for $1 is still the best thing ever.

IKEA Restaurant and Café Menu, Reviews, Photos, Location and Info - Zomato

Leave a Reply

