Bowery Lane – Sydney CBD

Review of Dinner Menu 2016

So long has this restaurant been on my to go list and it was so exciting to finally have a reservation there. I had heard so many good things about their breakfasts and brunches but I had the pleasure of tasting their dinner menu.

It was a tiny bit of a challenge to find the entrance, even though the shopfront was obviously visible from the street. There was a long table great for big groups, small booths for cute dates and bar seating for casual eaters and drinkers. The restaurant was dimly lit and very sophisticated.

I ordered the crab casarecce. It was a very light pasta dish. The pasta was cooked nice and al dente, but apart from the light hint of chilli it was rather bland and there was very little crab. Definitely not a saucy pasta, but feels healthy and looks vibrant. For me, I would’ve like a little bit more oomph in taste and more crab please.

img_0194
Shark Bay Crab Casarecce $27

The other main for the night was the Ora King Salmon. I remember the Salmon having an amazingly crispy skin and flaky soft meat. The salad had a very strong mustard flavour, which you either like or hate. In terms of portion sizes, I think just having this Salmon dish by itself wouldn’t be satisfying enough for dinner, there was a distinct lack of carbs. By the end of the meal, I wish I had ordered one of their steaks, which came with polenta chips that looks absolutely delicious. Much regrets.

img_0196
King Ora Salmon $29

DESSERT TIME! This was super exciting. The strawberry pavlova looked and sounded amazing! In real life though … it was good (especially the strawberry icecream, the cream on the bottom and the strawberries drenches in syrup). The top half of the meringue was good but the base of the meringue was so hard that I founding it impossible to cut with a knife let alone chew it. I ended up taking the top of the meringues and enjoying it that way, which was delicious.

img_0198
Strawberry Pavlova $16

Would I return again? If the opportunity presented itself, yes I think it would. Bowery Lane has a really diverse range of offerings for any meal of the day and their menu constantly changes. I hope one day I will get to try their polenta fries and their brunches.

Bowery Lane Menu, Reviews, Photos, Location and Info - Zomato

Leave a Reply

