Bekya – Gateway, Circular Quay

There’s been a lot of hype around circular quay ever since the brand new flashy food hub ‘Gateway’ opened. Despite boasting big names including Messina, Chat Thai, Din Tai Fung and Zumbo, I wanted to see what else was on offer.

img_1406

That’s when I came across Bekya for middle eastern food that is not kebab. They sell lunch boxes where you can choose a protein, a type of rice, a salad and type of sauce for $12.90. I found the choices quite interesting and went for the following:

img_1407

Β 

After a short way, the result ended up being:

img_1408

Unfortunately, Gateway is super busy for lunch so it was incredibly hard to find a seat indoors – but that meant enjoying the great outdoors! I loved the rice in this – it almost reminded me of the rice in a good Hainanese Chicken Rice dish. It was flavoured and had a wonderful texture. The chicken shawarma was flavourful, tender and easy to eat. I didn’t need to worry undercooked or bland chicken. I chose tabouli because I wanted a crisp freshness to my otherwise heavy meal. The babaganoush was ok, not the best, but also a bit out of place on my plate. You have the option to add a freshly made tortilla for $1, which would work nicely with the sauce, but otherwise I found it quite redundant.

img_1406-copy

There is an abundance of choices at the Gateway, but most of them can be found elsewhere. Bekya is definitely worth trying for a filling and delicious meal!

Β Bekya Menu, Reviews, Photos, Location and Info - Zomato

Leave a Reply

